The Real Tenerife

DSC_0805.jpg

View of El Teide Pico from the open road

Right now, on a volcanic island off the west coast of Africa, swarms of mostly English and German tourists are getting ready to move several feet from a restaurant to their hotel pool. Then, if they’re motivated enough, they’ll move to the beach to sit and stare at the water. Not only does this sound intoxicatingly boring, it also sounds like a terrible way to spend a holiday. I decided to investigate Tenerife for myself. For one because it was going to be a great escape from bitter English weather, but also because I was able to get a return ticket for €50. My plan was simple: rent a scooter, circumnavigate Tenerife in the 4 days I allotted myself, and spend less than £200 in total, including flights.

Day 1

DSC_0761.jpg

Chips and a beer in Los Cristianos: €2

After arriving late and sleeping at the airport, I hopped on a TITSA bus to Los Cristianos in order to rent a scooter. I did a bit of exploring around Los Cristianos, but eventually made my way on foot a few kilometers to Playa De Las Americas, where the Cooltra scooter rental was located.
Although it seems like scooter rentals are everywhere in Tenerife, Cooltra is both the cheapest and most reputable. This particular branch is operated by Europcar, and if booked online a 125cc scooter is only €19/day. That price includes the bike, basic insurance, and a helmet. Unfortunately I didn’t book online, so when I showed up they were sold out and gave me a quote of €45/day for a 3 day rental. I declined, grabbed some beer, chips, and wifi; and booked the bike online for the next day at the online rate of €19/day. I found a hostel for €10 in El Medano, and after a beer on the beach I hopped on a bus to make the 45 minute journey.

Day 2

DSC_0779.jpg

El Medano

Waking up a bit late, I quickly made my way back to Playa De Las Americas so I could grab my scooter by noon. The process was painless, and after some paperwork I was on my way. The plan was to follow the coast as best I could. At 125cc, this scooter was technically allowed to use the major highway on the island, the TF-1 (which I did several times and almost died). To increase my chances of survival, I decided to limit my usage of that highway and stick to secondary roads. Luckily, the TF-82 followed a similar route, was more scenic, and most importantly: slower. After a lunch break in Tejina de Isora, I really put in some miles on the scooter. Up through beautiful mountain passes and down through valleys, I eventually found myself in Puerto de la Cruz. I did some grocery shopping at the local market, and sorted myself a room at La Terrera Hostel in Pino Alto for €11.

Day 3:

DSC_0837.jpg

Morning at the Treefort Hostel

By now feeling very confident on the scooter, and continued my journey. For lunch I stopped in the very beautiful La Laguna. Although it’s littered with high-end retail shops, it’s also the site of the first spanish settlements, so there is a lot of history. As I made my way back to the highway, the weather began to close in. I decided to seek shelter at the Climbing House in Villa de Artico, about 25km from La Laguna, which cost me €9. Villa de Artico was beautiful and probably my favorite village on the island. Quiet and somewhat isolated, yet beautiful and historic.

DSC_0857.jpg

La Laguna

Day 4:


I had to get the scooter back to the Europcar by noon, so I hustled up and out of Villa de Artico pretty early. I made it back to Playa de las Americas around 11, had some lunch and slowly made my way to the airport. Unfortunately I gauged my time poorly and my check-in was already closed.  However, thanks to some incredible folks at the Vueling service desk, I received my boarding pass, got through security, and on to the plane with literally 1 minute to spare.


Final thoughts


The amount of fun I had for the price is unmatched. While Tenerife wasn’t my favourite destination in the world, it definitely has its charms and was worth a visit.

Totals

Flights: €50.00

Coffee: €1.50

Bus to Los Cristianos: €14.40

Hostels: €30.00

Scooter: €38.50

Petrol: €12.00

Food: €16.50

Drinks: €15.00

Total cost: €177.90 / £148.50

DSC_0767.jpg

About Derrick Flanagin

MMU MMJ
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

